Enchanted Garden Blanket

Enchanted Garden Blanket 2The New Zealand Summer of 2016/2017 will probably go down in records as being one of the lousiest Summers we’ve ever had.  It was cold, wet and windy right through December, January and February.  In March Summer decided to finally make a brief appearance before Autumn arrived.

The only up side to having a Summer that feels like Winter, is that the crocheting may continue (sometimes having a wool blanket on my knee while I stitch it can be just too hot in Summer).

The ‘theme’ for this blanket, when I went searching for a pattern, was to make something with granny squares around the edge, as opposed to being 100% made up from squares.  I found this really sweet looking “Enchanted Garden” granny square by Claire Norden, that became the basis for the design.  As usual, I used 8 ply machine washable wool, given that I was making it for use by a baby or toddler.

Enchanted Garden BlanketI was very happy with the overall look of the blanket….so much so that it has been put away for now.  I love the colour combination and some day I hope that it will brighten up someone’s nursery.

Leave a Reply

