Joining Granny Squares

I had some 4 ply merino wool that I wanted to use up.  The easiest way seemed to just make a bunch of granny squares.  Easy peasy.

Lounge Blanket 3Then it came to joining them.  In the past I have either sewn them together, or used a single crochet stitch.  Sewing them together gives a nice flat finish on both sides, whereas crocheting them together leaves a ridge on either the front or the back depending on which you choose.  On the blanket shown to the left, I used it as part of the detail of the blanket.  Both are nice, so it just depends on the look you are after.  Some say that it should be on the wrong side, but I figure it’s all about what you like the look of.

For this latest blanket I thought I’d try something new, since the squares themselves were pretty plain.  I had seen a lovely style in the past when looking on the internet, so after a little bit of Googling, I worked out it was called “Flat Braid Crochet Join”.  I found this really good tutorial that uses different coloured wool so it was easy to follow.  The link is here.  I used chains of 5 on the sides, and 7 on the corners because the 3/5 combo was a bit tight and I got curling of the corners.  I haven’t quite finished my blanket yet, but here is a photo of what I have done so far:

4 Ply Blanket 1

Whilst I was doing my investigation about what type of method I wanted to use, I also found this great tutorial on the “Zipper” method which is flat.  I will definitely give that a go in the future.

I also found this video for the “Grafting” method which also looks really interesting.

Of course the worst part of doing all of this internet searching is that my brain is now overloaded with so many inspirational ideas!  I’ll have to hurry up and finish the blanket I’m working on so that I can get onto the next project!!

Leave a Reply

