Cleaning Make-up Brushes

I don’t normally post about things like cleaning make-up brushes, but I found such an awesome way compared to what I used to do, that I just had to share.  Firstly, I guess just a short note on why I clean them: I don’t use the brushes/sponge tipped ones that come with any eye shadows that I buy; I have other brushes that I’ve bought for that.  I also use brushes to put my concealer, foundation and loose powder on with.  Therefore I have all these brushes that get dirty, not to mention the bacteria that probably builds up on them.

The method I have always used is to wet them with warm water, squirt on some hand soap and froth up the hairs on the brush, repeating many times until the water runs clear when rinsing.  For my loose powder brush I might have to repeat the above 3-4 times, and the foundation one is even harder to get clean.

Not any more!!  I had a search on the internet and kept seeing references to using vinegar so I settled on this “recipe” and it worked a treat:

1 Cup warm water
1 Tablespoon White Vinegar
1 Tablespoon disk washing liquid

All you do is swirl your brush around for a few minutes and then rinse!  My foundation brush took a little longer, but still MUCH quicker than the old way.  Here are the before and after photos of that brush.

Before:Foundation Brush Before

After:

Foundation Brush After

So, there you have it.  Beautiful clean brushes that look brand new again!

 

Leave a Reply

