Rhubarb Pie

20150228_184237My rhubarb patch has been going crazy these past few weeks!  Maybe the combination of the heat, humidity and odd rain shower is just what it like the most.  Oh, and the sheep pellets that hubby puts down.  He wanted to put more pellets down so I said I’d pick a bunch of stalks so that he could at least see where he was putting the pellets.  I’d already frozen the last bunch I’d picked so figured I really should do something with this batch.  I’ve been battling a head cold the past week so felt like something ‘homely’ that reminded me of my mother who lives too far away to delivery such treats to my front door.

It has to be said that the food that always reminds me of my mother is roast chicken and rhubarb pie.  It’s just simply one of those meals that was a staple in my childhood.  The fact that my mother makes the BEST pastry probably help!  Needless to say, I felt like making a pie; something I haven’t done in years.

I normally follow my mother’s pastry recipe, which doesn’t have any egg in it.  It’s a simple butter/flour recipe, but I decided to try something different this time.  Below is the recipe I used for the pastry:

Pastry

300g plain flour
2 Tbsp caster sugar
180g cold butter, cut into cubes
1 egg
1 or 2 Tbsp water, if needed

Place the flour, sugar and butter in a kitchen whizz and blitz until it resembles fine breadcrumbs.  Add the egg, and blend to form a soft dough.  Add water if needed.  Wrap in cling film and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

I don’t know how much filling I made….enough that looked like it would fill the pie dish?  I had an apple in the fruit bowl so I peeled and chopped that and threw it in too.  You can read my earlier post to see how to cook the rhubarb here.

Roll two-thirds of the pastry out to line your pie dish (I used a 23cm one).  I pre-lined the dish with baking paper.  Blind bake for about 15 minutes at 180oC or until pastry is almost cooked.  Roll the remaining pastry out into a square and cut 1cm lengths.  Fill pie with filling and then lay the lengths of pastry on top.  Brush with a little milk, and sprinkle with a little bit of sugar.  Return to the oven for 20 minutes, till the pastry is golden.

Yum!  Serve with ice-cream, cream or custard.  This pie is delicious hot or cold.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb Pie

Leave a Reply

