Torching of a different kind

Creme BruleeNormally when I am using a torch, it’s one that is burning at nearly 3000deg, and I’m using it to melt glass.  But not today.

Over the Christmas holidays I bought a SCANPAN Chef’s Blow Torch & Creme Brulee Set and today I finally used it.  I used the recipe that came with the set, but substituted Lime with Lemon.  This is the first time I’ve made a Brulee and unfortunately things didn’t quite go to plan; namely that I over beat my eggs.  Instead of making them “soft and creamy” I whipped them to be “soft and fluffy”.  Essentially they had too much air in them.  Luckily it wasn’t a complete disaster and the custard turned out smooth and yummy…it just had a ‘bubbly’ skin on the top which I scrapped off.

Creme Brulee TorchWhen it came to using the torch to make the hard caramel on top I just used caster sugar since I didn’t have the types of sugar in the recipe.  My first attempt burnt our trial Brulee (luckily we had one!).  Since it was just a trial one I pulled off the burnt caramel and I gave it another go.  It was a bit of fun, and I will get to show off my new skill this evening when we have dinner and dessert with our neighbours!

Leave a Reply

