Oat Ginger Slice

Oat Ginger SliceI’ve recently had a hankering to eat something sweet with my morning coffee that I buy across the road from the office I work in but I’m often disappointed with store bought cakes.  One day the urge was strong enough that I succumbed to it and bought a slice of Ginger Crunch.  Well, it was delicious!  It had a really nice thick oaty base and a good thick layer of yummy ginger icing.

After buying a few, I figured that really I could probably make my own so I went on the hunt for a recipe.  I tried a couple but none where quite what I was after so I changed it up a bit and came up with the recipe below.  If you want it slightly crunchy, store it in the fridge.

Oat Ginger Slice

Ingredients

140g butter
¾ C brown sugar
1 Egg
2 T golden syrup
1 t vanilla essence
¾ C flour
1 ½ t baking powder
1 ½ t ground ginger
¾ C desiccated coconut
¾ C whole grain oats
¾ C rolled oats

Icing

140g butter
3 T golden syrup
4 t ground ginger
2 – 3 cups icing sugar
2 T shredded coconut

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180c. Line a 32cm x 22cm slice tin with baking paper.
  2. Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  3. Beat in the egg.
  4. Lightly beat in the golden syrup and vanilla essence.
  5. Sift the flour, baking powder and ginger into the bowl and mix until smooth.
  6. Add the whole grain oats and coconut, folding to combine.
  7. Press the mixture into the prepared tin and smooth out with the back of a spoon.
  8. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown all over. Remove and leave in the tin sitting on a cooling rack.

 

  1. Melt the butter in a medium sized saucepan then take off the heat.
  2. Mix in the golden syrup and ground ginger.
  3. Add 2 cups of the icing sugar mixing till smooth. Slowly add icing sugar until the butter is all mixed in.
  4. Spread over the warm base.
  5. Sprinkle over the shredded coconut, pressing lightly into the icing.
  6. Leave in the tin to cool then cut into slices.

 

2 thoughts on “Oat Ginger Slice

  1. Arielle

    It looks amazing! I really love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

