Orange, rhubarb and cardamom cake

Orange, rhubarb and cardamon cake BWhen I went back to work after the Christmas holidays, my favorite coffee shop by the office was still closed.  All was not lost because there is another coffee shop close by (technically it’s actually closer to the office, but their coffee just isn’t as good!)

Anyway, I was waiting for my coffee to be made and was browsing through the 2-3 year old magazines they had on offer (2nd reason to stick with my usual place) when I came across a cake recipe that had rhubarb in it.  If you’re read my earlier posts you’ll know that I have a wonderful rhubarb patch in the garden and love anything that has rhubarb in it.  Such as it is with modern technology these days I whipped out my mobile phone and took a photo of the page.

The recipe has candied oranges on it, but I’m not a big fan of them (and oranges are out of season so expensive) so I skipped that step.  I also didn’t prebake my rhubarb, and that worked just fine.  Oh, and I also made a note to try less butter next time.  The recipe says to use 200g, but I found it to be a little greasy.  Next time I’ll only use 175g and see how that goes.

Orange Rhubarb and Cardamon Cake RecipeThe cake itself looked really pretty, and would be wonderful to serve to a group of guests for morning tea with a nice dollop of whipped cream 🙂

One thought on “Orange, rhubarb and cardamom cake

Leave a Reply

