Peppa Pig Crocheted Hat

Peppa PigHats, hats, hats!  That’s all I seem to be making these days, thanks for the people in my husband’s office!  Today I had to work out how to make a Peppa Pig.  First thing of course was to Google it…..I had no idea who Peppa Pig was!

Below is the pattern that I came up with.  You can download a printable version here: Peppa Pig Hat

MATERIALS
80gm Pale Pink 8ply (DK)
20gm Dark Pink  8ply (DK)
10gm Black 8ply (DK)
10gm White 8ply (DK)
Hobby Fill to fill Snout and ears

ABBREVIATIONS
Ch
= Chain.
Dc = Double crochet.
Rep = Repeat.
Sc = Single crochet.
Sl st = Slip stitch.
St(s) = Stitch(es).

INSTRUCTIONS
Note: Ch 3 at beg of round counts as dc.
Use 5mm (H) Hook
US Stitches

*For child size complete Round 5, for adult size complete Round 5 & 6.

Hat:
With Pale Pink,
Round 1: Magic Ring, 12 dc, sl st to first dc (12 dc)
Round 2: Ch 3, dc in same sp, 2 dc in each dc around, sl st to join (24 sts)
Round 3: Ch 3, *2 dc in st, 1 dc**. Rep *-** 11 times, 2 dc in last st, sl st to join (36 sts)
Round 4: Ch 3, dc in next st, *2 dc in 1 st, 2 dc**, rep *-** 11 times, 2 dc in last st, sl st to join (48 sts)
*Round 5: Ch 3, dc in next 2 sts, *2 dc in 1 st, 3 dc**, rep *-** 11 times, 2 dc in last st, sl st to join (60 sts)
*Round 6: Ch 3, dc in next 3 sts, *2 dc in 1 st, 4 dc**, rep *-** 11 times, 2 dc in last st, sl st to join (72 sts)
Round 7-14: Ch 3, dc in each dc around, sl st to join.  Fasten off.

Ear Flaps:
With Pale Pink,
With seam on top, centre as you flatten hat. From edge count 8 stitches to the right (Left for second flap).
Round 1: Ch 3. dc in next 13 st (14 dc)
Round 2: Ch 3, decrease, dc in next 10, dec, dc in last (12 sts)
Round 3: Ch 3, dec, dc in next 8 sts, dec, dc in last (10 sts)
Round 4: Ch 3, dec, dc in next 6 sts, dec, dc in last (8 sts)
Round 5: Ch 3, dec, dc in next 4 sts, dec, dc in last (6 sts).
Round 6: Ch 3, dec, dc in next 2 sts, dec, dc in last (4 sts).  Fasten off

Edging:
With Dark Pink,
Round 1: Attach, ch 1, sc around, putting 2 sc in corners of ear flaps, join, fasten off.

Eyes (Make 2)
With White,
Round 1: Magic Ring, 6 sc, sl st to join
Round 2: Ch 1, 2 sc in each st, sl st to join (12 sts)
Round 3: Ch 1, *1 sc, 2 sc in next st **, rep *-**, sl st to join (18 sts)
Round 4: Ch 1, *2 sc, 2 sc in next st **, rep *-**, sl st to join  (24 sts). Fasten off.
With Dark Pink,
Round 5: Ch 1, 1 sc in each st around, sl st to join (24 sts).  Fasten off with yarn length to stitch to hat.

Pupil (Make 2)
With Black,
Round 1: Magic Ring, 6 SC , slst to join. Fasten off with yarn length to stitch to white of eye.

Snout:
With Pale Pink,
Round 1:  Chain 5, Work in continual round, 1 sc in back loop of 5 ch, 2 SC in the same st, 1 sc in next 2 sts, 1 sc in the last chain.  (10 sts)
Round 2: Ch 1, 2 sc in each st around, sl st to join (20 sts)
Round 3: Ch 1, 1 sc in each st around, sl st to join (20 sts)
Round 4: Ch 1, *1 sc, 2 sc in 1 st**, rep *-**, sl st to join (30 sts)
Round 6-12: Ch 1, 1 sc in each st around, sl st to join (30 sts)

Nostrils (Make 2)
With Dark Pink,
Round 1: Magic Ring, 6 SC , slst to join. Fasten off with yarn length to stitch to snout.

Ears (Make 4)
With Light Pink
Round 1:  Magic Ring, 6 sc , sl st to join (6 sts)
Round 2: Ch 1, 2 sc in each st around , sl st to join (12 sts)
Round 3: Ch 1, 2 sc in each st around ( 24 single crochet total)
Round 4: Ch 1, 1 sc in each st around ( 24 single crochet total)
With Dark Pink,
Round 5: Join two ears together, 2 sc in each st around, stuffing with fill before closing.

Sew Nostrils on to snout, and then sew Snout to hat, stuffing with fill before
closing.  Sew Pupils to Eyes, and then sew Eyes to hat.  Sew Ears to top of hat.

Braided Tails (Make 2):
Cut three 60cm strands of Pale Pink, Dark Pink and White (9 strands total).
Pass through last space in earflap. You should now have 18 strands to braid with.
Braid approx. 20cm long, knot, trim ends.

15 thoughts on “Peppa Pig Crocheted Hat

  1. nje62013

    I simply cannot get this to wokr! on my 3rd attempt. Can you tell me what the tension ought to be please. I think either the wool or the needle is wrong!

    Reply
    1. craftykiwichick Post author

      Hi, I don’t have a hat here to measure, but from memory the aim is to get 14 stiches to 4 inches. I personally have to use a 5.5mm (I) sized hook to get this tension, and that is consistent with all the crocheting that I do. I assume that means that my tension is tighter than it ‘should’ be. Maybe it would be worthwhile doing a few test bits of about 20 stitches to see how many you get in 4 inches and adjust either your tension or hook to achieve 14 stiches in that space. Let me know how you get on 🙂 Regards, Helen

      Reply
  2. nje62013

    Hmmm… I think I shall have to double the wool up. I’ve tried it with a 5mm, 4.5mm and 4mm needle and they all end up saucer shaped rather than ‘hat’ shaped. I have very loose crochet, nut even so this ought to ahve worked. 😦

    Reply
    1. Kirsty

      Ive not been crocheting long and this worked for me i did find one mistake in the pattern which was only to use dark wool for the ears when she meant light

      Reply
  3. Trudy

    This snout pattern is very confusing. Can u better elaborate the starting round please. I’m stuck on the part where u are supposed to “continue in round” and end up with 10 stitches. Plus crochet in back loop of the last chain 5 stitch or do I chain 6? Please help. I really would love to complete my pig with a beautiful snout.

    Reply
    1. craftykiwichick Post author

      Hi, If you Google “Crochet Back of Stitch” you should find a site that explains it. Essentially, you chain 5 – DONT join it in a circle. You then crochet back along the 5 stitches only in the back of the stitches, so that you can crochet in the FRONT on round 2. This creates an oblong shape for the snout, instead of a round shape. I hope that makes sense….let me know. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Petra

    My 3 year old niece LOVES this hat! She had her choice of many Peppa Pig hats on the internet and time and again chose this one. Thank you for making this pattern public for free.

    I made this hat, tweaking here and there to suit my needs. For example, I used DK yarn and a 3.5mm hook because that’s what I am used to and comfortable with. I made my hat for a small 3 year old, so I followed the above hat pattern to round 5 (60 sc) skipped round 6 as written and worked another 11 rounds of (ch3 then 1 sc in each st (60 sc)) 16 rounds in total. My ear flaps are a little longer, but that’s just personal preference. I love the ears, eyes and snout, they are super cute. My gauge width 16st =4″ and height 10 rounds=4″

    Again, I cannot thank you enough for putting this free pattern online for the world.

    Reply
  5. V. Pritchard

    I’m relearning how to crochet and following printed instructions is confusing. On the child’s cap instructions say to complete round 5. How many total rounds for child’s cap?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

